The lepidopterist on life

November 12, 2013

I have no desire to put them in cases on display, because then I will be responsible for their tragic, untimely death. What use are they then? Butterflies are surely at their most beautiful when free, and people are no different. Free to live. Free to flourish. Free to be.

butterflying

2 Responses to “The lepidopterist on life”

  1. D. Handler said

    Thanks for the read! I have a little counter story for you 🙂

    Outside the glass there exists an entire world that wishes to snuff out my light. Inside the hungry lizard’s stomach, my iridescent scales turn to broken protein. Birds tear apart my wings and the hot kiss of neon voltage is a likely death. Beauty and order always give in to entropic disarray. So let me stay inside the glass so everyone can see my beauty preserved. For inside your collection, I am made whole when you see me whole.

    • Amanda Law said

      That’s lovely, you use your words so well. Thank you, no-one’s ever commented with a counter story before. Please feel free to do so as often as you like.

      Amanda xx

Leave a Reply

