Stop the cull

August 29, 2013

The badger lifted his snout and sniffed the night air. The scent of something sinister drifted his way, though he didn’t yet know what. And then he heard the first bang, followed by another. In terror the whole sett ran, directionless and afraid, and began to fall, one by one.

 

Badger

** find out more about the badger cull and please sign the petition to help stop it.

9 Responses to “Stop the cull”

  1. LindaGHill said

    That is a very emotion-packed 50 words. Well done.

    • Amanda Law said

      Thank you, it’s a very sad situation which I felt compelled to write about.

      • LindaGHill said

        It’s not the first time I’ve heard about it. I can’t begin to understand why anyone would want to cull a species.

      • Amanda Law said

        Well, the farmers think it’s necessary to stop the spread of Bovine TB in cattle, but there’s no real evidence culling badgers will achieve this. Anyway, I don’t eat meat or drink cow’s milk, so as far as I’m concerned I think the farmers should rear less cattle and focus on crops which will feed more people and have a smaller carbon footprint.

        By the way, thank you for always being first to read my stories.

        Amanda xx

      • LindaGHill said

        You’re welcome 🙂 I rarely go on my reader anymore, so the people I enjoy following the most, I do so by email – so I get your posts as soon as they’re published, most days.

      • Amanda Law said

        You know what, interacting with people all over the world is one of the best reasons for writing a blog I think, even though it’s just a happy by product.
        🙂

      • LindaGHill said

        Agreed. I wasn’t expecting to make friends here, but I have. 🙂

  2. Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd said

    Excellent – the writing of course, not the cull.

Leave a Reply

