The self-perpetuating anxiety of the permanently sleep deprived

July 11, 2013

It is late. I cannot sleep. I switch the light on to read. It doesn’t work. Two hours pass. 3.00am and still wide awake. My alarm will ring in only three and a half hours. I’ll be at work in five. This is ridiculous. I need to sleep. Now. Please.

3am

4 Responses to “The self-perpetuating anxiety of the permanently sleep deprived”

  1. Argh! That was me on Tuesday. You’ve captured that circle of anxiety nicely.

    • Amanda Law said

      My own particular problem is that I try, but fail, to get to bed as early as I think I should. I’m not sitting around watching TV either, just trying to get everything done that needs doing. Sorry to hear you relate to this story though – most unpleasant, hope it only lasted one night.

Leave a Reply

