That is the question

July 5, 2013

Knock knock!” I called through the letterbox. “Who’s there?” she smiled, opening the door. “You won’t believe the wild goose chase I’ve been on,” I said, wanting to explain my lateness, “but this’ll break the ice.” Her smile broadened as I produced a bottle of Bollinger from behind my back.

 Bollinger

** this story is based around some common sayings that we have Shakespeare to thank for. I’ve put them in bold so you can spot them easily. Others include love is blind, green-eyed monster, the world is my oyster, in a pickle and hair stand on end. Amazing!

2 Responses to “That is the question”

  1. I always find it interesting to learn where phrases come from. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

