Love me, love my phone

May 21, 2013

I dispute the idea that the internet is ruining our focus and our ability to relate to other humans. I can easily last at least seven hours without checking my phone. But that’s when I’m asleep. When I’m awake I can’t last seven minutes, and I only communicate by email.

 

Phone

** this is my weekly WordPress writing challenge submission, in which bloggers had to vote on the following: Does your phone affect your relationships? Out of four possible responses, I chose this one: My phone makes my relationships stronger because it adds more streams of communication and helps me stay in closer touch with people. And I must say, despite my work of fiction above (I can last eight minutes if absolutely necessary!), this is the honest truth.

Find out more about the challenge 

5 Responses to “Love me, love my phone”

  1. Zenobia said

    I agree. It’s a good way for me to keep my friendships going, even when I’m going through a hermit-y phase. Also to organise real-life catch-ups when I’m feeling less hermit-y.

    P.S. I’m going through a hermit-y phase.

  2. A damning indictment of our time… No concentration and outsourcing of memory (do you know any of the numbers in you phone by heart?) and talking about streams of communication, it isn’t just email! Have you had conversations that start as a text, continue as FB or IM and tweets culminating in an email of some stuff you promised to dig out later on? I wonder how many of our friendships are international (those 7 hours in bed are no longer sacrosanct ) I have friends in Australia, NZ and the US where conversations erode the hours away at each side.. but it’s all good fun. I agree with you Amanda, it strengthens ties and we have a community of friends that can help with anything, 24hours a day.

  3. […] Love me, love my phone | Fifty Words a Day […]

Leave a Reply

