The importance of the dark sky preserve

May 10, 2013

“Viewed from Earth one cannot see that the Milky Way is a spectacular spiral galaxy. Yet to protect what we can see, we must combat our enemy: light pollution.” “Excuse me,” I whispered, “is this the Psychology department? “No, Astronomy.” I slipped out quietly so as to avoid further embarrassment.

milkyway

 

See some stunning photographs of the night sky at Northumberland National Park, which is bidding to become Europe’s largest dark sky preserve.

Find out about other dark sky preserves around the world.

4 Responses to “The importance of the dark sky preserve”

  1. LindaGHill said

    Cool. I did not know that. And I’ve been to a couple of those places (in Canada) too, and not realised what they were also famous for – being DSPs.

    • Amanda Law said

      I know, it’s a nice idea, that our skies need preserving just as much as our rainforests and so on. Plus there’s something quite magical about the name too. An interetsing source of writing inspiration.

      Amanda x

  2. A lovely little fifty, an embarrassing moment everyone can relate to but not too acute. I like the way you link your stories to informative snippets or whatever the inspiration was.

    • Amanda Law said

      Oh good, I’m glad you like that – I guess I want to share whatever’s inspired the writing where relevant.

Leave a Reply

