The etymology of my favourite word

May 1, 2013

An ancient Persian fairy tale, The Three Princes of Serendip, enjoys a fortunate ending which is put down to perceptive sagacity and repeated good luck. A series of happy accidents involving a lost camel give us a word which sounds, when uttered, as positive and fascinating as its meaning: serendipity.

The Three Princes of Serendip

6 Responses to “The etymology of my favourite word”

  1. Amanda, that is the perfect favorite word.

  2. ianhayhurst said

    A favourite word of mine too. I like the way you’ve put it together. that fifty really does have a beginning, middle and an end!

    • Amanda Law said

      Many people seem to agree with my choice of word, which is a pleasant surprise. Glad you liked what surrounded it too. I also enjoyed researching it, I’d never heard of the Three Princes before.

  3. PS. Congratulations on reaching the 1/3 of the way there mark!

    • Amanda Law said

      Gosh, yes, you’re right. I hadn’t given it a thought. Thank you. So, only another eight months of this madness to go. I’m just writing tomorrow’s as it goes…

Leave a Reply

