The arachnophobe and the lucid dream

April 30, 2013

I knew I was dreaming, though I’m not sure how. Dreaming, but in control at the same time. I was able to make conscious decisions and influence my surroundings, which was lucky, because I managed to wake myself up just as the giant spider was going to eat me alive.

 

Spider

** apologies to all my fellow arachnophobes for this photograph, but it had to be a decent size.

4 Responses to “The arachnophobe and the lucid dream”

  1. Amanda Law said

    It’s the eyes in this photo, they’re so menacing. I really don’t do spiders!

  2. ianhayhurst said

    I love the inherent uncertainty and ‘anything’s possible’ scenario in a lucid dream, great idea! Sent me off down a rabbit hole investigating the recent discoveries about spiders distance calculating vision from unfocused images that was discovered as it works in green light but they underestimate in red light due to chromatic aberration.. I love stories that send me off with ideas,,, this was one of those.

    • Amanda Law said

      And I love sending you off with ideas (despite my embarrassment at still being afraid of spiders as an adult. I’m a lot better than I used to be though, so there’s been progress at least).

Leave a Reply

