A simple explanation

April 23, 2013

Staying the night at a friend’s country house, I was woken by a cold wind blowing across my face. Even in the darkness I could see the smiling old woman at the foot of the four-poster bed. “That’s my grandmother,” explained Matilda in the morning, “she died twelve years ago.”

 

Country house

5 Responses to “A simple explanation”

    • Amanda Law said

      But not too scary hopefully. The old woman’s smiling, and Matilda’s not at all surprised her friend had a visit from her in the night. I felt she was a friendly ghost, if such a thing exists.

      Amanda

  1. ianhayhurst said

    I kind of guessed it was going to be a ghost story, but it was the choice of a sepia photo that did it!

    • Amanda Law said

      I know, pretty obvious really. The photo was a contemporary one but I ‘aged’ it deliberately. Strangely though, I worked out only this morning that my own grandmother died twelve years ago this September. If ghosts were real, she’d be a kind and smiling one.

Leave a Reply

