An endangered species

April 22, 2013

“Daddy, why’s the sky blue?” asked six year old Joshua. “Let’s Google it,” offered his father, unsure of the answer himself. “But I want to look it up in a book,” the boy insisted. “Oh. I see.” He turned to his wife. “Do we have any books?” “No, love, sorry.”

book resizedPhotograph by Tuku

2 Responses to “An endangered species”

  1. ianhayhurst said

    I wonder if the verb to google will remain the term anachronistically long after Google has gone? Let’s hope encyclopaedias on readers catch on before they go extinct too. great little fifty Amanda.

  2. Amanda Law said

    Good question, and yes, it’s a bit like I do the Hoovering still, even though I’ve never actually owned a Hoover. I like books, I don’t want them to become extinct.

Leave a Reply

