Deus ex machina

April 7, 2013

Just as I thought things couldn’t get any worse, they did. “I’m such a pathetic excuse for a woman,” I chastised myself out loud, “only a superhero could save me from this mess.” Suddenly…CRASH! A man dressed in multicoloured lycra burst through my window. “How can I help you, ma’am?”

Machine

3 Responses to “Deus ex machina”

  1. ianhayhurst said

    I love the idea of itinerant Superheros wondering about looking for work. With the economy the way it it I suspect they would have credit card transaction phone thingies dangling from their utility belts. Alternatively with all that Lycra, It could be that cyclist avoiding the ‘lucky’ guy picking up that penny from April 33d https://fiftywordsaday.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/all-the-day-youll-have-bad-luck/ crashing through the window. rereading your story I’ll change that to inept, itinerant superheros.

    • Amanda Law said

      Yes, that would explain why the cyclist was in such a hurry. You should Google Deus Ex Machine, it’ll explain the story. Actually, I think I’ve spelt it wrong, it should be Deus Ex Machina. Doh! I’ll have to correct it.

      • ianhayhurst said

        Interesting to read it’s true and more common use which somehow passed me by as I’d heard it in the past in the context of a joke about computers never thought to investigate further. I once read (about writing) that you can use that sort of thing to get your character into trouble but not to get them out.

Leave a Reply

