Power to the people!

March 26, 2013

Politically speaking, the largest-scale problem the UK faces today is the lethargy of its voters. Which isn’t surprising, seeing as the three main parties only ever tell us what they think we want to hear. That’s why we need large-scale intervention. But not from the government – from the people.

Image

 

** I don’t normally write about politics, but this week’s writing challenge asked for our opinions. I chose to write about the following statement: “Large-scale problems like the obesity crisis won’t be solved without large-scale intervention. Government needs to step in on issues that affect the whole community.” And in only fifty words. For the record, I treated it more as a writing exercise than a soapbox moment. More details of the challenge are here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/writing-challenge-government/#more-16999

4 Responses to “Power to the people!”

  1. ianhayhurst said

    I’d leave a comment about the writing, but I can’t be bothered and you know what I’d say anyway 😉 Love the choice of Image, I remember Citizen Smith from years ago!

    • Amanda Law said

      I wanted to make a serious subject a little more lighthearted with the Citizen Smith picture. I used to love him when I was little, though I suspect I had very little idea of what it was about at the time.

  2. […] Power to the people! (fiftywordsaday.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Power to the people! | Fifty Words a Day […]

Leave a Reply

