This story will self-destruct in fifty words

March 22, 2013

My mission began in a high class hotel room. I was woken two days later by a call from MI6 asking why I’d lost contact. Had I been drugged? Then I noticed the open mini bar door and the empty bottles littering the carpet. I have a desk job now.

 

Image

8 Responses to “This story will self-destruct in fifty words”

  1. ianhayhurst said

    I like the turning point, about the middle, the build up and the crash down. A good one for a Friday. The excitement followed by reality.

    • Amanda Law said

      Yes, I thought the same about it being a good Friday story. Thank you for finding something new to say about my stories each time, it’s very much appreciated.

      • ianhayhurst said

        Given the effort required to write one and then let it go, that coupled with your long term aim it’s easy to offer comment and support. It’s also fun trying to extract and write down how they do strike you and what they make you think and feel. I was waiting for this mornings like Pavlov’s dog… now there’s an idea…

      • Amanda Law said

        Yes, that’s a great idea. I’ll look forward to it…

  2. lexborgia said

    I counted 43, and that’s being generous. Single consonants don’t count, 2letter words are half a word. But I liked it, specially the title; that’s very good – captures it all. Cheers.

    • Amanda Law said

      Thank you, I’m really pleased you liked it. Whose rules are they re. the word count? I go by what it tells me in Word, which is always exactly fifty.

      • lexborgia said

        Relax, I’m just teasing you. Rules are a guide, not a law, and even laws are open to interpretation. You’re doing good. Cheers.

      • Amanda Law said

        Phew! I thought the flash fiction police were about to come knocking on my door. I can sleep easy now 😉

Leave a Reply

