Underneath that tree

March 4, 2013

The gnarly oak stood in stark silhouette against the mist, the dawn of a perfect summer’s day. Later, I sat underneath that tree with Elsie, my sweetheart. I surprised her with a ring and she agreed to marry me.  Sixty years later I buried my wife there, underneath that tree.

Image 

** photograph by Ian Hayhurst. As always, thank you for the inspiration.

2 Responses to “Underneath that tree”

  1. That was a nice surprise! lovely story with a poignant finish.

Leave a Reply

