You’ll have bad times (and he’ll have good times)

February 28, 2013

On the radio Tammy Wynette is belting out her anti-feminist anthem, Stand by Your Man. Women still aspire to full equality in the home and workplace, but we’ve come a long way since 1968, right? “Sometimes it’s hard to be a woman,” she croons. Forty-five years later,  maybe nothing’s changed. 

Image

6 Responses to “You’ll have bad times (and he’ll have good times)”

  1. I read that a couple of times and thought where’s your angle? Then I read the title and it all clicked into place.

    • Amanda Law said

      Sorry, I don’t really know where it came from. For some reason I was looking at that song’s lyrics and thinking, gosh, times have changed a lot since then. And then I thought…hmm., have they really?

  2. ianhayhurst said

    We’ve seen more movement in attitudes to smoking and racism I suspect

    • Amanda Law said

      I was probably just having a bad day. It’s funny, I never intended to use these Fifty Words to put across personal opinion but I’m aware I’ve done it a couple of times now. I’ll try not to let it become a habit, I promise.

      • ianhayhurst said

        It comes over ok as a commentary rather than ‘preachy’ I think you’re doing well!

      • Amanda Law said

        Thanks, Ian. Luckily I’m having a good day today so hopefully I’ll write something rather more jaunty for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

